Nick Marcriss recently joined the DNR Urban and Community Forestry Program as a new Urban Forest Inventory Technician. In his role, he will support the implementation the new Urban Forestry Inventory and Analysis Program. Nick will spend his time collecting field data and street tree inventories, helping to develop monitoring programs and more.

Keep reading to learn more about Nick’s background and how he found himself interested in Urban Forestry Inventory and Analysis (UFIA):

What is your favorite tree? My favorite tree species is Pinus longaeva (great basin bristlecone pine). These trees are some of the oldest living organisms on the planet, and their resilience amazes me!

What was your path to your current role as a professional? I have always been drawn to science and the outdoors. In college, I pursued those interests and earned a degree in Conservation and Restoration Ecology from Utah State University. While in school, I had the opportunity to work various data collection field jobs and found a particular fondness for forest ecology. I was lucky enough to land a job at Utah State with Dr. Jim Lutz and spent a few summers sampling large forest monitoring plots in some of the most stunning landscapes in the west. I learned a lot about working in forests and collecting high-quality data, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

After that, I had a short stint as a consulting utility forester before joining the U.S. Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station as a field technician with the Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) program in Sedro-Woolley. During my time with FIA, I had the opportunity to collect data across the state of Washington and gained a deep appreciation for how forests enrich our lives. I’m so excited to now join DNR and contribute to its UFIA program. The data we collect will play an important role in managing and protecting our urban trees and green spaces.

What do you enjoy most about your work? I love that I get to contribute to a long-term data set that will help scientists, managers, and policymakers for years to come. I also really enjoy being outside and all the unexpectedness that comes with fieldwork.

In your opinion, what is the most pressing challenge facing urban and community forests in Washington today and why? Climate change is the most pressing challenge we face because it is likely to exacerbate many other factors affecting urban forests. Invasive species, poor management practices, and environmental justice issues will all be negatively impacted. We can combat this by making informed, intentional efforts to increase resilience in our urban forests.

Welcome Nick!